Skip to main content

Emergency Management & Operations

Emergency Management & Operations

Emergency Management and Operations begins with developing a program that includes the four phases of emergency management: Mitigation/Prevention, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery. In order to achieve this, you must first determine what personnel need to receive the Incident Command System (ICS) and National Incident Management System (NIMS) training based on their role(s) in the overall school emergency management program. Below you will find the resources to assist you in the development of your districts emergency management program and your districts emergency operations plan.  


TXSSC Emergency Management

TXSSC EOP Planning Toolkit

FEMA-IS-100.C: Introduction to the Incident Command System, ICS 100

FEMA ICS for Schools

FEMA-IS 700.B: An Introduction to the National Incident Management System

Texas Division of Emergency Management

The "I Love You Guys" Foundation

National School Safety Center (NSSC)

National Threat Assessment Center (NTAC)

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

United States Department of Homeland Security Readiness -

Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools (REMS)

Texas Education Agency - Safe Schools

Texas Chapter 37 - Discipline

Texas Department of Emergency Management (TDEM)

Texas School Safety Center (TxSSC)